And my least favorite question is….

“Where do you see yourself in the future?”

The sarcastic punk in me always wants to reply with, “Who told you about my ESP?!” Instead I just stumble around my words and hope something coherent comes out.

The fact of the matter is that I don’t know. I know that I like to write. That is all I know. I don’t know where I see myself in the future. I don’t know where I see myself tomorrow, today – heck, I don’t even know where I see myself yesterday.

I’ve never been good at planning for my future. I applied to college early, but not out of preparation – I was just all squared away and I wanted to get it over with. I applied for transfer to U of O on a whim, got in and decided to go. I applied to the PDXSX because I wanted to be closer to home
(as in live at home and not pay rent) and I knew I would get a great experience from it (also, I knew it would be a good way to get my foot in the door – I like to think of myself as a free spirit but sometimes my brain does these things without informing me. I think it’s nice). This article says that an ENFP is: “a free spirit, creative, spontaneous, insightful, disorganized, dramatic, fun-loving, imaginative, non-conforming and definitely not neat.” (see what I did there? If not, go back a few posts!) I’m not sure I would say I am disorganized -and I am definitely neat. Sometimes. And I am never seriously dramatic. I do it jokingly! But hey, I’ll take it.

I like to put things off and just let things happen because I don’t have a plan for the future. I think my heart doesn’t care, and it wants me to just do whatever I feel like doing, but my head knows that sometimes you just have to prepare. So thank you, head. I appreciate that one of us has a plan.

I think I would have done well in the sixties. Minus all the psychedelic drugs… just because I don’t like to think about the future doesn’t mean I don’t want to have one.

 

Leave a comment